Wilson Moot

Toggle secondary navigation

The Wilson Moot, named after former Supreme Court Justice and equality rights champion Bertha Wilson, is a national moot court competition devoted to equality law and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Established in 1992, it draws teams from approximately 10 law schools across the country. It takes the form of an appeal to a fictitious appellate court of last resort. The judges are members of the bar and the bench. The Final Bench is typically comprised of a Supreme Court of Canada judge and two members of the Court of Appeal for Ontario. The competition is of high calibre, but relaxed. The moot is a great opportunity to meet students from other law schools as well as members of the bar and bench.  It is held at the Federal courthouse in Toronto.