Dean’s Gold Key Awards presented to outstanding students

Group shot of 2023 Dean's Gold Key winners
2023 Dean’s Gold Key recipients (rear, L-R) Viktor Hohlacov, Aya Fahmi, Melissa Paglialunga, William Brown, Frank Nasca, Jaylene Olson, Christina Tassopoulos, (front, L-R) Mona Karimi, Natalie Bravo, Annie Hu, Courtney Cameron, Annika Butler, Bunisha Samuels and Rotem Fellus.

Fourteen Osgoode students have been honored with 2023 Dean’s Gold Key Awards for their exceptional contributions to the law school.

The awards, which were presented at a special event on March 22, are given every year to graduating students who have demonstrated remarkable leadership, commitment and enthusiasm through their participation in extra-curricular activities, peer mentorship, law school or university governance, clinical education, the Osgoode Hall Law Journal or other endeavors.

“I’m continually inspired by the achievements and the character of our students at Osgoode,” said Dean Mary Condon. “These are amazing individuals and they give me so much hope for the future of our profession.”

The following is a list of recipients with a brief summary of their achievements taken from their nomination forms:

Natalie Bravo showed exceptional leadership as a Deans’s Fellow, research assistant, co-president of Outlaws, editor at the Journal of Law and Social Policy, and in her clinical programs (the Anti-Discrimination Intensive Program (ADIP) and Feminist Advocacy).

William Brown restarted the Osgoode Athletic Association, revived two Osgoode intramural hockey teams and its inter-law school team, organized the Osgoode Charity Classic and was a legal intern at Animal Justice.

Annika Butler is a dedicated leader with the Osgoode Indigenous Students’ Association, worked for the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General in the Crown Law Office, Criminal Division, during her IL and 2L summers, and was a member of the Intensive Program in Indigenous Land, Resources and Governments.

Courtney Cameron has held various leadership positions with the Osgoode Legal & Literary Society, including president, and has dedicated immense time and effort to ensuring a positive experience for her classmates.

Aya Fahmi has been a student caseworker at the Investor Protection Clinic, a workshop facilitator for Law in Action Within Schools (LAWS), a class representative in Student Caucus for three years, co-founder and co-president of Osgoode’s Middle Eastern Law Students’ Association (MELSA), a Dean’s Fellow for Public & Constitutional Law, and a volunteer with the Dean’s Scribe Program.

Rotem Fellus has been a volunteer and deputy co-ordinator with Pro Bono Students Canada, co-president of the Osgoode Tax Law Association, a leader with the Jewish Law Students’ Association, a caseworker with Community Legal Aid & Services Program (CLASP) and a volunteer with the Osgoode Peer Support Centre and the Competition Law Society.

Viktor Hohlacov has been a representative with Student Caucus, a student member of several committees, including Osgoode’s Digital Innovation Committee, co-founder of the Osgoode Securities Law Association, an active leader with the Osgoode Business Law Society and a staff writer with Obiter Dicta.

Annie Hu has been co-president of the Asian Law Students’ Association, vice-chair of Student Caucus, a volunteer with Pro Bono Students Canada, and a senior division leader, board member, caseworker and interpreter with CLASP.

Mona Karimi has held various leadership positions with the Osgoode Muslim Law Students’ Association, including co-president, has been a caseworker with the Osgoode Venture Capital Clinic, a student clerk with Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada, a volunteer for the Artists’ Legal Advice Services and a board director with Waveland Canada.

Frank Nasca has been one of Osgoode’s top mooters, a research assistant, a Dean’s Fellow, an enthusiastic participant in the Anti-Discrimination Intensive Program (ADIP) and the author of an award-winning paper on the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario.

Jaylene Olson has been a representative with and chair of Student Caucus, a caseworker with the Osgoode Investor Protection Clinic and a significant contributor to the Academic Planning and Policy Committee of Faculty Council.

Melissa Paglialunga has been the student recruitment coordinator for the Office of Recruitment & Admissions, JD program, for three consecutive years, executive producer of Mock Trial 2022, co-president of the 2022 JD/MBA conference committee, a secretary of Legal and Lit, a caseworker at two clinics (Mediation and Business), an active participant in mooting, and a contributor to the LAWS program.

Bunisha Samuels has served in leadership and fundraising roles with the Osgoode chapter of the Black Law Students’ Association, including president, a key contributor to the Raise the Black Bar initiative, a student caseworker with Parkdale Community Legal Services, associate editor at the Osgoode Hall Law Journal, a research assistant and active mooting participant.

Christina Tassopoulos has been a representative for Student Caucus, secretary for Legal & Lit, co-president of the Osgoode Peer Support Centre and co-chair of Orientation Week.